top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureScott Fawcett

New Year's Update

Happy New Year y’all!


First, I’d like to thank everyone for all the support in my writing during 2021. For those who reached out with enthusiasm on my writing, and who read the first short story, thank you. You keep me doing this, gang! This hobby will not be out of monetary gain (probably), it is only through a love of writing and encouragement from friends. And so, again, thanks!


I’d like to give a little snapshot of projects that are in the works in the ol’ Scott noggin. There are a few goals I have for 2022 that I’d like to accomplish with my writing. It’d be great to release them to you this year.


I think the most attainable goal for 2022 is likely just writing another short story. The problem with that is I don’t really have an idea in my head for another short story. Millie, me and the three: A Recollection of our Encounters in the Barrens,” was a story that came about quite naturally. A friend was writing a novella, and I told her about my novel. At that point, we challenged each other to a competition to write a short story. That was all the way back in October 2020. So yeah, it took me a year to write that horrifying short story. Hopefully, if I do write another short story, I will have it out sooner. Oh, and I was the only one who finished the short story in our little competition 😈. As a last note on short stories, I'll attempt to submit my last one for a short story contest, most likely next fall.


Another project I have on my mind is a piece of non-fiction I was writing during the year 2015 or maybe 2016. Strong Walls of Purple, Weak Walls of Gold was intended to be a recounting from my perspective of all that transpired during my years in undergrad at Wilfrid Laurier University. Unfortunately, this work is lost to the sands of time. It was on my old laptop which is now gone. However, since briefly making a post about it several days ago on my Instagram page, (shameless plug, go follow scotty.writes on Instagram) there have been a few people who have expressed interest in reading this. Originally it was supposed to be loooooong. But I might write a shorter version of this. However, I don’t even know if I’d released this for y’all to read. In my head, it’s a tad, controversial. Anyway, we’ll see.


Projects which are only theoretical in my head are some poetry and perhaps a play. As it says in the Instagram description, “writing prose like a pro.” so to be honest I don’t even know if I will write poems. Not really my style, but maybe. I think writing a play is a cool idea in theory though. But I don’t know shit about writing plays. I’d have to ask a friend who has some experience.


Finally, there is the novel(s) which is in the works. My fantasy novel, Solar Shadow, has been written on and off for the past sevenish years. And it’s nowhere near completion. However, in 2021, I wrote the most I ever have in a year. So, who knows? Perhaps I’ll get through most of it 🤔


That’s all for now. Thanks for reading this lil blog post update. Once again, Happy New Year, and thanks for your support


- Scott

Jan 3, 2022



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page